top of page

60


This post is special because I got to help tell the story of a great man.. I get to call him my father. My dad turned 60 yrs old today! That’s a milestone, so we put on a celebration for him over the weekend.

My sister had an idea of doing a legacy video for him. Believe it or not, she got this idea from the Kardashian show. Their Mom turned 60 and they made a video about her life. I thought it was a great idea and would be an honor to use my craft to help highlight my father’s life. Also it will always be something to look back on and that is the power of photo and video.

My Dad has a very inspirational story and has done a lot in this lifetime and is not finished yet. He has a lot of gems to share. This is a very special project and turned out to be a lot bigger than I imagined, we came out of it with a mini documentary and got to dig deep in the family archive of home videos. We shot it on Friday, and I edited up a rough cut to show at his celebration on Saturday. I returned to Philly yesterday and then spent all day today finishing up this movie.

If you have some time, sit down and check out my father’s story. It runs a little under 20 minutes. Just a boy from the projects of Newark, NJ he found a way beyond his surroundings. It is important that we look at the family members and friends around us and appreciate their stories, not just the people we read about or see on tv.

My family is pretty low key so this is a big step outside of the comfort zone putting something so personal on the internet. But the reason I dream so big and push my mind is because I had parents that did so. Maybe it can help you understand where my thinking comes from. Maybe you can take away something from it. Let me know what you think!

p.s. There are a lot of things that we didn’t even get to touch on, this is only a part of his story.

p.s. p.s. Ya’ll forgot I did video didn’t you?


bottom of page